Which country won the FIFA World Cup in which year

Which country won the FIFA World Cup in which year

The FIFA World Cup is an international association football competition established in 1930. It is a tournament where the men’s national teams of the members of FIFA, the sports global governing body, participate and compete. Since 1930, the tournament takes place every 4 years except in 1942 and 1946. The FIFA World Cup was canceled in 1942 and 1946 due to World War II. The 2018 FIFA World Cup was held by Russia, where France beat Croatia 4-2 in regular match time.

History of The FIFA World Cup

The Summer Olympics held in Los Angeles did not plan to include football as it was not much popular in the United States. FIFA president Jules Rimet thus set about organizing the World Cup tournament. In the first FIFA, World Cup total of 13 nations took part – seven from South America, four from Europe, and two from North America. The first two World Cup matches took place simultaneously and were won by France and the United States, who beat Mexico 4–1 and Belgium 3–0, respectively. 

List of Countries that won the FIFA World Cup

1930Uruguay 4–2 ArgentinaEstadio CentenarioMontevideo, Uruguay68,346[7][8]
1934Italy 2–1  CzechoslovakiaStadio Nazionale PNFRome, Italy55,000[9][10]
1938Italy 4–2 HungaryStade Olympique de ColombesColombes (Paris), France45,000[11][12]
1950Uruguay 2–1 BrazilMaracanã StadiumRio de Janeiro, Brazil173,850[13][14]
1954West Germany 3–2 HungaryWankdorf StadiumBern, Switzerland62,500[15][16]
1958Brazil 5–2 SwedenRåsunda StadiumSolna (Stockholm), Sweden51,800[17][18]
1962Brazil 3–1 CzechoslovakiaEstadio NacionalSantiago, Chile69,000[19][20]
1966England 4–2  West GermanyWembley StadiumLondon, England96,924[21][22]
1970Brazil 4–1 ItalyEstadio AztecaMexico City, Mexico107,412[23][24]
1974West Germany 2–1 NetherlandsOlympiastadionMunich, West Germany75,200[25][26]
1978Argentina 3–1  NetherlandsEstadio MonumentalBuenos Aires, Argentina71,483[27][28]
1982Italy 3–1 West GermanySantiago BernabéuMadrid, Spain90,000[29][30]
1986Argentina 3–2 West GermanyEstadio AztecaMexico City, Mexico114,600[31][32]
1990West Germany 1–0 ArgentinaStadio OlimpicoRome, Italy73,603[33][34]
 ItalyRose BowlPasadena (Los Angeles), United States94,194[35][36]
1998France 3–0 BrazilStade de FranceSaint-Denis (Paris), France75,000[37][38]
2002Brazil 2–0 GermanyInternational StadiumYokohama, Japan69,029[39][40]
 FranceOlympiastadionBerlin, Germany69,000[41][42]
2010Spain 1–0  NetherlandsSoccer CityJohannesburg, South Africa84,490[43][44]
2014Germany 1–0  ArgentinaMaracanã StadiumRio de Janeiro, Brazil74,738[45][46]
2018France 4–2 CroatiaLuzhniki StadiumMoscow, Russia78,011[47][48]
Upcoming finals
2022vLusail Iconic StadiumLusail (Doha), Qatar

Related posts

Leave a Comment